Archive for October 20th, 2007

20
Oct
07

in my opinion, J.K. Rowling is an idiot

Why did J.K. Rowling have to go and do this???? I’m not against gay people or anything like that, but this is completely unnecessary. There is no reason at all that this should have been addressed. She has created controversy for the heck of it. I can’t imagine that even 1/4 of Harry Potter fans sat in their rooms reading and thinking, “I wonder if Dumbledore is gay?” My answer is no, they probably didn’t.

In my opinion, if this was an issue that directly affected the story then that’s one thing, but it’s not. I think if she was going to let everyone know his sexual orientation, she should have done so when she introduced the character. Even then, it has no bearing on the story. So why bring it up, except to create more controversy?

p.s. Also, on a personal note, it’s hard enough to get conservatives, like my mom’s side of the family, to watch or learn about Harry Potter. Now, once they find this out it’s going to be an impossible task. J.K., you possibly just lost a potential future sale. Wait, what do you care? You’re probably swimming in gold in you’re giant safe like Uncle Scrooge and you probably don’t care.

Here’s another example of a wealthy creator of something great that just can’t leave their already perfect work alone.